Connect to an OAuth API

What is OAuth?

OAuth is a way of authenticating with a third-party platform by opening a new window and logging into the platform. If you've ever connected one platform to another, e.g. connected Gmail in Zapier, you've probably used OAuth.

Under the hood, OAuth works by obtaining and refreshing access tokens. These are first obtained when you login into the platform and then continually refreshed. They are then sent along with API requests to the third-party platform to authorize the requests.

Create an OAuth connection

When you create OAuth connections in Data Fetcher they are saved against your account. So you only need to create them once and can then use them for multiple API requests.

  • On the create request screen, scroll down to OAuth Connection.

  • Click ‚Äč

  • Click on the button for the platform you want to add, e.g. . You will be taken to the platform and where you can connect your account to Data Fetcher.

Connect to an OAuth API

  • On the create request screen, scroll down to OAuth Connection.

  • Choose the OAuth connection you want to use in the dropdown.

  • Configure the rest of your API details, e.g. URL, as you normally would and run the request. Authorization headers and parameters will be automatically set when the request runs, so you do not need to set them. For example, it set aAuthorization: Bearer <token> header for the Webflow CMS API.

Rename an OAuth Connection

  • Click to open the settings page.

  • Click to go to the account screen.

  • Scroll down to OAuth Connections.

  • Click next to the connection you want to rename.

  • Enter the new name in the input.

  • Click

Delete an OAuth Connection

  • Click to open the settings page.

  • Click to go to the account screen.

  • Scroll down to OAuth Connections.

  • Clicknext to the connection you want to delete.

  • Click on the modal that opens.

Some platforms, e.g. Google, will revoke all your OAuth connections when you revoke one connection. E.g. deleting Goole Analytics would also revoke Google Ads.